Posted on

Michelangelo Quotes Suck


My mother placed a quote from Michelangelo at the bottom of her emails, “The greater danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we reach it.”  As children our parents and teachers told us to “dream big,” “you can do whatever you put your mind to,” and “reach for the stars.”  I don’t think it ever clicked in my mind that I shouldn’t be cut-throat when reaching for the stars.  I never aligned the morals with the goals, and nested the two together.  Goal reaching and moral living were separate.  It may be separate in the minds of most people still.  I’m not going to step on people anymore.

My horrible morals aside, I’m not even sure that Michelangelo was right about goal setting.  I think I’d be happier if I weren’t reaching for the unreachable goals that I’ve set.   Instead of working at endless, fruitless, and meaningless tasks I could spend my time enjoying myself – not at work.  After all, who has the loyalty nowadays to give a shit about the company they work for, their boss’s well-being, or their own career?  I fucking know my employer could give two shits about me.  With that said, our contributions as individuals are so miniscule, and matter so little, that I can hardly imagine anything 99.9999% of us doing in our lifetime that will matter 10 years after our deaths.  Our odds of making a real and lasting difference in the world are so slim that we should focus on doing the minimum required to earn enough money for comfort and enjoy ourselves while we can.

Fuck this system we have.  It’s awful that we instill values in our children that make them yearn to achieve so much and totally ignore their wants and needs in life.  -unfigurable

Leave a Reply

