Posted on

We’ll Make Each Other Better


It worries me that my leadership path and my buddy’s academic path are too divergent to sustain the relationship.  People run in circles.  Our circles tend to contain people with similar experiences to our own.  If I continue on the Army path, commanding troops, and putting practice, doctrine, and reality before theory how can I relate to an artist placing creativity,  aesthetics, and theory before reality?  I understand the idea of not forgetting where you came from, which supports our friendship, and I understand the idea of making friends with people that have different ideas from our own, but does that really work?  I like people that think the same as me, speak the same jargon as me, and that have similar experiences as me.  Our future may be bleak and difficult.  But if we survive we’ll make each other better, and more complete.  –unfigurable

Leave a Reply

