Posted on

The Duties of a Brother


In the time I have to myself each day I ruminate in all the actual human interactions I’ve had throughout the day/week/year. So, I’ll die before Milota. I have a lifetime companion. I don’t have to look for a support system for myself that will last all my life – Milota is it. But Milota will need family after I die – not just the kids, but peers that will talk to her. I still need to find that support system for her. We don’t have it right now.

What if I would have died over here? What if I went into Iraq and died? Would Charlie still have said, “she hasn’t called me,” and passed it off as the wife of a deployed Soldier needs to seek out support? I don’t have a family, so my mission is to find a family that will outlast me for my wife. -Carl

Leave a Reply

