Posted on

Liberal Arts in the Business World


I don’t know about you, but I’ve found that I’m successful in my line of work (Army Logistics) because I believe I have a larger working memory than most, I connect ideas fast, and I prepare. I think my BA in History prepared me for this. Despite History being a Liberal Arts degree it prepared me by teaching me how to think critically. I think my degree has worked better for me than a business degree would have.

I just finished my MS in Psychology, which has assisted me in seeing other people’s point of view, but much of it is common sense to a person with any leadership (or even social) experience. I think the Liberal Arts degree is better and builds a better work force than science.

So, I think both business degrees and the science degrees are awful for preparing people to go into the business world. Soooooo, I think I’ll sign on for a philosophy MA in the Spring. I can’t think of any other degree that will assist me in learning to think analytically or to realize problems that others can’t see. This will be a functional and value tool to add to my arsenal. –Carl Miller

Leave a Reply

