Posted on

Quitting Meat for the Army: An Unfrequented Path to Vegetarianism


I’m a big dude – 6’1” / 210lbs. I’ve been teetering on being too big to remain in the Army for four years now. I run 4+ miles daily along with push-ups, sit-ups, and other exercises. My diet is my problem – not exercise. It’s scary to think that I’m always a buffalo wing away from losing my retirement. Oh, did I mention that I also like beer…which is a problem.

My wife is a 13-year vegetarian and she seems to think that I’ll lose weight by going veggie. I’ll give it a shot. Maybe by making my body work a little harder to get protein I’ll slim down. I wish I understood the science better. I’m sure it’s not as simple as just counting calories. There are so many calorie-less foods and drinks, but they provide calories…I’m sure of it – How do I count them?

I know that I’ll have to be hungry at times to lose weight. And I know that I’ll have to pick a sustainable diet. It won’t help me to lose the weight for three months and then put it right back on – I have 10 more years before I retire. There’s no way around it. I think I have to diet forever…hopefully this vegetarian thing works. –Carl Miller

Leave a Reply

