Posted on

Inherent Selfishness


I heard a guy say today that everything he does is for his sons. I’m sure he was sincere, but I couldn’t help thinking he was wrong. We live in a constant state of suffering – yearning. I’m rarely satisfied. My hunger never stops. Even if I satisfy my stomach with food I yearn for energy, or sleep, or warmth, or relief from too much warmth. I can’t stop the dissatisfaction. It doesn’t go away. There may be moments when discomfort or emptiness falls out of my immediate consciousness, but those moments are short…minutes at most. That guy does a few things for his sons, but he mostly lives for himself. He adjusts the thermostat, sleeps 10 minutes longer, stops at the 7-11 for a snack, and strives for workplace glory with selfish motivation. His sons merely benefit from certain portions of his selfishness. –Carl Miller

Leave a Reply

