Posted on

Another Reason Why I Prefer Liberal Arts Degrees to MBAs


Liberal arts majors are life-long learners.  People that developed a love for history or fiction carry that throughout their lives.  People that learned how business works in college don’t study outside of work. 

The average American college student studies 10-13 hours per week with only 11% studying 25 hours per week (according to the illustrious Google.com).  So, on the low end we’re at 1.5 hours per day and on the high end at 3.5 hours per day.  Neither of those are extremely high numbers.  I’m not sure what the researchers considered studying, but I know that I read for an hour each morning, spend half-an-hour on Duolingo (learning languages), read Yahoo articles in Spanish and French for 20 minutes, and sort through 30 minutes of stock market news – about 2.5 hours.  I’ve completed a routine similar to this since graduating college 13 years ago (17 years if you include from my Freshman Year in college). 

I’m sure this is a habit I’ve formed to fulfill the mental cravings I developed while in college.  Others, with liberal arts degrees, probably do something similar.  I can’t see a business major or a tech-guy developing the same thirst for learning.  This is why I hope my children shoot for liberal arts.  People talk a lot of shit about the arts, but I think in the long run we perform better in leadership or staff positions, we learn quicker, and we’re better citizens with a more nuanced view of the political realm.  So, fuck you non-studying retards.  My self-study has placed me orders of magnitude further in learning than you could ever hope to reach.  My potential = still within grasp.  Your potential = wasted. -Carl Miller

Leave a Reply

